Today we made an update to the way that account names that have been deactivated by the Garlic Necklace are displayed on the website. The Garlic Necklace is an item provided by Bloodlines that allows people to deactivate their accounts if they wish, so their avatar names no longer appear on the public site at slbloodlines.com. Every person who is under Garlic has been assigned an automatically-generated “secret identity” name, and this is the name that will appear in lists on the website such as soul and minion lists. So, deactivated accounts will no longer appear as “(name removed)” on the website, they will appear as the auto-generated secret name. The secret names will appear in “Firstname Lastname” format, and you can identify them because they will have one of the following five last names: Immortalus, Maleficus, Damarchus, Grimm, or Miasmador.
There are several purposes to this:
- You can now specifically identify a soul you own that is from a deactivated account, and trade it with the Soul Reaper, or use it for ransom in an Electrum transfer. When selecting deactivated souls for transfer with the Soul Reaper or the Electrum, you can use either the legacy name format (such as “Lyle Maeterlinck” or “Firstname Resident”) or the secret name. When you’re transferring a deactivated soul, both the secret name and the legacy name will show up in the soul reaper messages, such as “Secret Name (Legacy Name)”.
- We’ve heard that some people don’t like owning souls that show up as “(name removed)” on their profile. Also, it’s possible to obtain or trade for a soul that later gets deactivated, and some people have been disappointed by this. Now, deactivated souls will show up as the secret identity name, which looks the same as a legacy name on your profile.
Every account is assigned a single secret name only once. If you go in and out of garlic, the secret name remains the same, you don’t get a new secret name each time. If you own a soul that belongs to a deactivated account, you can view the legacy name of that soul by logging into slbloodlines.com and look at your own profile, then hover your mouse over the secret name, and you’ll see a tooltip with the legacy name displayed. To clarify this, ONLY the soul owner can see the tooltip with the legacy name of the deactivated account, and ONLY if they are logged into the website and looking at their own profile. Legacy names of deactivated accounts still will not be publicly displayed on the site. If you have any questions about this, please don’t hesitate to contact Lyle Maeterlinck directly.